Guide · Grooming vacuums
Are dog grooming vacuums worth it?
A grooming vacuum collects hair as you brush or clip. Who gets the most from one, what the suction and noise claims mean, its limits, and what to check before buying.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. How we make money · How we research
Short answer
Worth it if you groom a shedding dog indoors, your dog stays relaxed around motor noise, and you have room to store one. A grooming vacuum connects brush, deshedding and clipper heads to a small vacuum, so loose hair goes into a bin instead of around the room. It does not dry a dog, fix mats or make shaving a double coat a good idea, and its suction and noise figures are the makers' own claims.
What a grooming vacuum is
A grooming vacuum is a small canister vacuum with a hose and a set of grooming heads. You brush, deshed or clip with the head, and suction pulls the loose hair into a dust cup. Neakasa describes its kit as a built-in vacuum that "collects 99% of pet hair" into the dust cup instead of releasing it into the room. That is the maker's claim, not an independent measurement.[1]
What comes in the box varies. Neakasa lists a grooming brush, rake tool, electric clipper, cleaning brush, crevice tool and five clipping combs with its P2 Pro.[1] Oneisall's BM3 set also includes a nail-grinder head, a paw-trimmer head and a deshedding brush.[2]
Who gets the most from one
| Your situation | Worth it? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Heavy shedder, groomed indoors | Most likely | Collecting hair as you brush is what these machines are for |
| Several pets with shedding coats | Likely | One machine and one bin for every dog |
| Dog nervous around noise | Only after a slow introduction, if at all | AVSAB warns that forcing a pet through a routine is very stressful and can make things much worse[3] |
| Matted coat | No | VCA says to remove mats with clippers, never scissors, and to get professional help for severe tangles[4] |
| You need to dry the coat after baths | Not instead of a dryer | A vacuum does not dry. AKC says high-velocity dryers dry by blowing water out of the coat[5] |
| You want a double coat short for summer | No | AKC says shaving a double coat does not cool the dog or stop shedding[6][7] |
| Smooth, short coat | Optional | AKC suggests a medium-bristle brush, rubber mitt or hound glove for coats like the French Bulldog's[8] |
| You groom outdoors | Less useful | The hair is not landing in your home anyway |
How to read the spec sheet
Suction. Makers quote suction in pascals (Pa), a unit of pressure. A Pa figure says nothing about airflow, hose losses or how well a head works in a coat, and none of the makers we checked publishes a standardized test method. Neakasa's P2 Pro page shows the problem: it lists both "10500Pa" and "Suction Power 35W", two different measures, so a Pa claim from one maker cannot be compared with an air-watt claim from another.[1]
Bin size. A bigger bin means fewer stops to empty it during a heavy shed. First-party claims run from 1 to 3 liters.[9][2]
Hose length. A longer hose lets you reach around a big dog without moving the canister. Oneisall's pages for the BM3 and Cozy SE2 do not state one.[2][10]
Noise. The makers we checked claim roughly 50 to 60 dB in their quietest mode, again without a standardized test method; Uproot gives a range of 52 to 78 dB.[1][11] See grooming vacuum noise claims.
Guard combs. If you will use the clipper head, check the comb lengths. Neakasa lists 3, 6, 12, 18 and 24 mm for the P1 Pro and P2 Pro, and 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 mm for the S1 Pro.[9]
Corded or cordless. Uproot claims "60 minutes / 4 grooming sessions" for its cordless kit.[11] For anything rechargeable, Health Canada advises using the charger that came with the device.[12]
| Model, from the maker's own page | Suction claim | Bin | Hose |
|---|---|---|---|
| Neakasa P1 Pro | 9,000 Pa | 1 L | 4.3 ft[9] |
| Neakasa P2 Pro | 10,500 Pa | 2 L | 4.9 ft[9] |
| Neakasa S1 Pro | 11,000 Pa | 3 L | 5.2 ft[9] |
| Oneisall BM3 | 13,000 Pa | 3 L | Not stated[2] |
| Oneisall Cozy SE2 | 15,000 Pa | 2 L | Not stated[10] |
| AIRROBO PG100 | 12,000 Pa | 2 L | 4.9 ft (1.5 m)[13] |
| Uproot Cordless Grooming Kit | 9,000 Pa | 1.7 L | 6.7 ft[11] |
Every figure in this table is a manufacturer claim, not an independent measurement, and the makers do not publish a standardized test method behind them.
What a grooming vacuum cannot do
- Dry your dog. AKC's drying advice is about airflow from a dog dryer; a vacuum pulls air the other way.[5]
- Replace good brushing. You still need to reach the skin. AAHA says to brush all the way down, parting the hair to reach the undercoat.[14]
- Make the clipper head safe for a double coat. AKC says shaving a double coat removes both layers and raises the risk of sunburn and other skin damage.[6] On single coats, AKC advises leaving at least one inch of hair.[15]
- Guarantee a calm dog. AKC notes that dog dryers may have noise-reducing sponges, but dogs may still fear the sound.[5] Any machine with a motor can worry a dog.
- Disappear into a drawer. Neakasa's P2 Pro weighs 5.5 lb (2.5 kg) and has a 2.5 m (98.4 in) power cord.[1]
Before you buy on AliExpress
- Choose the right voltage and plug. The standard US wall outlet is 120 V.[16] Some listings split their variants by voltage: one grooming vacuum listing sells a 110 V US-plug version that the seller says suits only the United States, Canada, Mexico and Colombia.[17] In Canada, Health Canada says not to buy plug-in electrical products without a Canadian certification mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL, and the mark must be on the product itself.[18]
- Do not read "Official" as proof. A store name is a title on AliExpress, not a confirmation from the brand. One store ID that search engines still list as "ONEISALL Official Store" now redirects to a different seller, "Bincoo Authorized Store".[19]
- Match the listing to the maker's model. One oneisall-branded listing claims 15000 Pa with a 1.5 L dust container, while oneisall.com lists its 15,000 Pa Cozy SE2 with a 2 L bin.[20][10] Model codes help: Oneisall publishes manuals by model, such as the Cozy SE2 (PG08) and BM3 (PG04).[21]
- Check that parts exist. Filters and combs wear out. Parts listings name the models they fit, but that compatibility is the seller's claim.[22]
- Know who is responsible. AliExpress's terms say the platform does not control and is not responsible for the quality or safety of products its sellers list.[23]
More checks are in the AliExpress buyer's checklist.
The capacity and "ultra-low noise" description on this listing are the seller's claims; the grooming vacuum shortlist shows what is and is not known, and why we dropped a second kit.
Next
Questions
Do grooming vacuums really remove shedding hair?
They collect the hair that the brush or deshedding head loosens: the head does the deshedding and the suction does the cleanup. Neakasa says its kit collects 99% of pet hair into the dust cup, but that is the maker's claim, not an independent measurement.[1]
Is a higher Pa suction rating better?
Not necessarily. Pa measures pressure, not airflow or how well a head works in a coat, and the makers we checked don't publish a standardized test method. Neakasa's own P2 Pro page lists both 10500Pa and a 35 W suction power figure, which are different measures.[1]
Can a grooming vacuum replace a dog dryer?
No. A vacuum collects loose hair; it does not dry the coat. AKC says high-velocity dog dryers work by blowing water out of the coat, so airflow rather than heat does the drying. See dog dryer vs grooming vacuum.[5]
Can I use the vacuum's clipper to shave my double-coated dog for summer?
No. AKC says shaving a double coat doesn't cool the dog, doesn't stop shedding and raises the risk of sunburn and other skin damage. Use the brush and deshedding heads instead.[6][7]
Are grooming vacuums safe for cats?
We found no veterinary guidance specific to cats and grooming vacuums. If you try one, introduce it gradually and never restrain a frightened cat through it. Never cut a cat's mats with scissors: VCA says to use clippers, or see a vet or groomer for large or widespread mats.[3][26]
Which plug should I choose for the US or Canada?
In the US, choose the 110-120 V US-plug variant; the standard US wall outlet is 120 V. In Canada, check that the rating label matches your supply, and Health Canada says to buy plug-in electrical products only with a Canadian certification mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL on the product itself.[16][18]